Just another WordPress.com site

Tofu Stir Fry

Now don’t run off! I know a lot of people run the other way when they hear the word tofu, but it really can be such a versatile cooking ingredient and this is one of my favorite dishes to use it in. It can be a little scary if you’ve never cooked with it before but it’s really easy. It’s such a great little ingredient and is used worldwide in so many ways! It was invented in China in 164 BC. WOW! It’s very low in calories, high in iron and protein and low in fat. It comes in firm, medium and silken varieties. It can also be vacuum packed and sold in shelf stable packages. It really is something you should try out in a few different ways.

Anyways, on to the recipe! This really isn’t a follow to the letter recipe. It’s more of a throw all of the veggies you have in your fridge in the wok, cook with tofu and voila! Stir fry! So I’ll try to lay it out as best as I can.

Tofu Stir Fry

1 lb firm tofu, drained and cubed
1 package mushrooms, chopped
2 red bell peppers
2 broccoli crowns
2 zucchini
oyster sauce
canola oil

I start by adding about 2 tbsp oil in the wok and frying the tofu for several minutes, turning to get all sides golden brown.

Then remove the tofu and set aside.  Add a little bit more oil and add all the chopped veggies, except for the mushrooms.

Cook the veggies for several minutes until al dente.  Add your chopped mushrooms.  I got VERY excited this week at the Farmers Market because I found Oyster Mushrooms!  It’s unheard of here to find anything more exotic than crimini.  I was squealing with delight.  I think the vendor thought I was insane.

Add the mushrooms and then add about 1/8 cup of oyster sauce.

Cook for just about one minute more until mushrooms have wilted a little.   Add the tofu back into the stirfry.

Cook for one more minute until the tofu is heated through.  I like to serve mine over brown rice.

This is a FABULOUS meal!  And it’s fabulous as leftovers as well.  It’s a very easy meal to make, just takes some prep time to get the veggies all cut up.  I hope you love it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

